Field Studies

Fellowship Afloat's 150-acre saltmarsh is a part of the Essex Estuaries European marine site (part of the EU Natura 2000 series) and has national and international designations for its nature conservation value.

The neighbouring River Blackwater and Colne Estuaries are also of international significance for conservation and provide an example of a dynamic coastal estuarine system.

A wide range of coastal habitat types within easy reach of the centre include: successional saltmarsh communities, intertidal mud and sand flats, subtidal mixed sediments and associated fauna and flora, grazing marsh, associated wetlands and brackish lagoons. There are nearby demonstration sites, which feature coastal realignment and foreshore recharge.

Our centre provides comfortable accommodation, motor boat and dredging facilities and also has a shore-based classroom.

Upcoming courses

Course Date Price
RYA Young Sailors
Saturday 9th July to Sunday 10th July
£115.00 Book provisionally
Sail Away Day
Saturday 23rd July
£45.00 Book provisionally
Multi Activity Week (9-12yrs)
Saturday 30th July to Friday 5th August
£395.00 Book provisionally
Multi Activity Week (12-15yrs)
Saturday 6th August to Friday 12th August
£395.00 Book provisionally
Sail Away Day
Saturday 10th September
£45.00 Book provisionally
RYA Powerboat Level 1 and 2
Friday 7th October to Sunday 9th October
£250.00 Book provisionally
RYA Powerboat Level 1 and 2
Friday 4th November to Sunday 6th November
£250.00 Book provisionally
East Coast in Watercolour
Friday 25th November to Sunday 27th November
£149.00 Book provisionally